SMSDN meeting at the Scottish Parliament

SMSDN meeting at the Scottish Parliament

The Network’s formal constitution was adopted in September 2004.  The network now has memberships from 30 Scottish Local Authorities.

We hold quarterly business meetings and we have been active in sponsoring and delivering seminars for both elected members and support services staff.

Our programme of regular meetings has included a range of guest speakers delivering presentations to ensure that network members are kept up to date with current legislation and practice.

Keith Brown, Local Government Minister, speaking

Keith Brown, Local Government Minister, speaking

We have an approved business plan that includes an action plan of short, medium and long term actions including:

  • Promoting and encouraging joint working with other agencies/bodies involved in providing services to elected members.
  • Improvements to our Members’ Services Network website.
  • Addressing on-going training/development issues, in particular the review and delivery of the Scottish Member Services Development Network Professional Certificate.
  • Coping with the challenges of change – adapting skills/knowledge.

Office bearers are elected annually at the June business meeting and this year’s chairperson, secretary and treasurer are:

Elaine Houston (Chairperson)
0141 287 5626

Sharon Jamieson (Vice-Chairperson)
0141 287 5646

Alison Cumming (Secretary)
01467 530796

Donna Gallagher (Treasurer)
0141 618 6794